The Barb horse is one of the oldest breed in the world. Probably originated from the primitive Mongolian horse from which it has some characteristics, the Barb horse would have installed in Africa during Prehistory. The Barb thoroughbred, unlike what was supposed, would be native from North Africa (Mauritania, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya). According to Yasmina Chaïd Saoudi, a doctor in animal paleontology, the skeletons exhumed in Algeria during archaeological excavations would prove the presence of ancestral horses between 30000 and 10800 years AC. Indeed, there are many similarities between Equus algericus and the barb horse.


Origin of the Barb breed


Rupestrian representations of those horses, discovered in the Saharian Atlas on Neolithic paintings, would confirm their presence (N Lhote, 1952).

The Barb horse has been bred since Antiquity for hunting, war, pulling up and work. It is the traditional companion of the Atlas and High Plateaux nomads and breeders

Romans already mentioned this horse more than 2000 years ago as the ”horse from the Barbary coast”.  Many of them were imported into Europe from the 7th century where they were excellent as warriors. In France, it’s when talking about King Henry 3 that the barb horse is mentioned for the first time. But the king who really took interest in the thoroughbred was Henry 4, who even bred them. The famous royal equerry Antoine de Pluvinel used Barb horses in his equestrian academy and future king Louis 13 learned equitation on one of their representatives, named Bonitte.

The Barb is also the origin of many other breeds such as the English thoroughbred, the Spanish thoroughbred, the Lusitanian, the Argentinian Criollo or the Mustang.

If you have a passion for the Barb horse, please surf on the internet sites of the French Association of the Barb Horse (AFCB) or the Belgian Association of Barb Horse  (ABCB). Excellent books also exist, among which “le cheval barbe”, from E. J. Roux, Maisonneuve edition 1987 as well as the written works of D. Bogros, E. Beudant and many others.


Characteristics of the Barb horse


Its bravery is well known. It is frank and affectionate. It is devoted to its human “companion”. The Barb horse is able to let itself fade away if it feels abandoned.

It is peaceful and even lymphatic at rest. It “babouche”?, with its lower lip hanging. But when, at riding, it is solicited, it bubbles.  It is lively, comfortable and very agile. It is surefooted. It is quick and has a lot of stamina. Instinctively, it can spare its efforts.

It is a tough horse. It can be happy with a pool of water, a watermelon or a melon for drinking. It is easy to look after. It several times proved it can resist to deprivations. It can be hungry and thirsty. But if it is well fed, it will raise in height and in beauty.

It is very intelligent and learns very quickly. But be careful not to deceive it because it could be rebellious to any excesses of violence and authority. Because the breed is ancient, it is a late horse. It is mature at 7 years, at least. You can take advantage of this period to create strong emotional ties. Then, it will give you its quintessence and with it, you will taste Paradise!

One of the Barb horse characteristics is that it has five lumbar vertebrae, instead of six. The lumbar  vertebrae are the weak part of the spine of the horse, because they are floating such as a suspension bridge and are only tightened by the muscles (that point is no more known nowadays). The fact that the Barb only has 5 lumbar vertebrae puts less strain on those muscles. This would explain, among others, the legendary resistance and stamina of the Barb horse, which, nevertheless, keeps a great suppleness of its back.


Different types encountered in the horse beard


The standard of the breed, acknowledged by the French studbook of the Barb horse, lists the following: medium-height (from 1.45 to 1.60 m), “square” shaped, grey, chestnut and bay Coloured (there are still some piebald subjects in black Africa), above all, the Barb can be recognized by its typical head and hindquarters.

Its head is powerful and rather long, the forehead is narrow and slightly convex. Its cheeks are rather large and, at medium height, it has a massive, straight neck. The nose is straight or convex with a marked nose bone. Its dark eyes, very expressive, are set high. Its nostrils are wide and receding. The lower lip is heavy, sometimes drooping. The ears are small and oriented backwards at rest. The mane is abundant and thick.

The withers are high and its back, short and tensed, underlines its strength. It has an oblique, sloping croup. The specific low-set tail seems to be hidden in the profile of the buttock. The shortened thigh enables the rear legs to pass under the horse. The shoulder is long and sloping. The limbs are dry, tough with broad joints. The tendons, also dry, are well defined. The hoovers, provided with a very hard horn, are small. The chest is wide and deep.

It is a powerful, efficient and tough horse, enduring either cold or warm weather (even though it doesn’t like humidity very much).

Inside this general morphology, according to the biotopics, the human selection and the use, there are several types within the Barb breed (source Chantal Chekroun).

Le cheval barbe est l’une des plus anciennes races de chevaux au monde. Vraisemblablement issu du cheval primitif mongol dont il possède certains traits, le cheval « barbe » se serait installé pendant la préhistoire en Afrique.
La race barbe, contrairement à ce que l’on supposait, serait donc autochtone de l’Afrique du nord (Mauritanie, Maroc, Algérie, Tunisie et Libye). Selon Yasmina Chaïd Saoudi, docteur en paléontologie animale, les squelettes exhumés en Algérie lors de fouilles archéologiques, prouveraient la présence de ces chevaux ancestraux entre 30 000 et 10 800 ans avant notre ère, car il existe bel et bien entre Equus algericus et le cheval barbe de nombreuses similitudes.

 

Origine de la race barbe

 

Des représentations rupestres de ces chevaux, découvertes dans l’Atlas saharien sur des peintures du Néolithique, confirmeraient leur présence (M. Lhote, 1952).

Le cheval barbe est élevé depuis l’antiquité pour la chasse, la guerre, la parade et le travail. Il est le compagnon traditionnel des nomades et des éleveurs de l’Atlas et des Hauts Plateaux.

Les romains mentionnaient déjà ce cheval il y plus de 2 000 ans sous le nom de cheval de Barbarie. Nombre d’entre eux furent ainsi importés en Europe à partir du VIIème siècle où la race excella à la guerre. En France, c’est à propos du roi Henri III qu’on cite pour la première fois le cheval barbe. Mais c’est surtout Henri IV qui va vraiment s’intéresser à la race, au point de les élever. Le célèbre grand écuyer du roi, Antoine de Pluvinel emploiera des barbes dans son Académie équestre et c’est sur un de ses représentants, nommé le Bonitte que le futur roi Louis XIII fera son éducation équestre.

Le barbe est aussi à l’origine de nombreuses autres races chevalines. Citons le pur-sang anglais, le pure race espagnol, le lusitanien, le criollo argentin ou encore le mustang.

L’histoire du cheval barbe vous passionne ? Allez surfer sur les sites internet de l’association française du cheval barbe (AFCB) ,l’association belge du cheval barbe (ABCB) et encore l'association allemande du cheval barbe (VFZB). D’excellents ouvrages existent également. On peut citer, par exemple, « Le cheval barbe » de E. J. Roux, Editions Maisonneuve (1987) mais aussi les écrits de D. Bogros, d’E. Beudant et de bien d’autres.

 

Ce qui caractérise le cheval barbe

 
 

Son courage est légendaire, fantasque, franc et affectueux, dévoué à son « compagnon ». Le cheval barbe peut se laisser dépérir quand il se sent abandonné.

D’un tempérament paisible, voire lymphatique au repos, il « babouche », la lèvre inférieure parfois pendante. Mais, lorsque sous la selle, on le sollicite, il bouillonne. Vif, confortable et très agile, son pied est des plus sûrs. Rapide et endurant, il sait d’instinct gérer son effort.

Cheval rustique, il s’accommode d’une flaque pour s’abreuver, d’une pastèque ou d’un melon ! Facile à entretenir, il a maintes fois prouvé sa résistance aux privations : « il peut la faim, il peut la soif ». Nourri correctement, il gagnera en taille et en beauté.

Pourvu d’une grande intelligence, le cheval barbe apprend très vite mais attention à ne pas le tromper car il sait être rebelle à tous les excès de violence et d’autorité. L’ancienneté de la race fait de lui un cheval tardif. « Fini » vers 7 ans, voire plus, profitez de ce laps de temps pour tisser des liens affectifs forts avec lui et votre patience sera récompensée… Alors, il vous offrira sa quintessence et avec lui, vous goûterez au Paradis !

L’une des particularités du cheval barbe est la présence de cinq vertèbres lombaires au lieu de six. Les vertèbres lombaires sont un peu le point faible de la colonne vertébrale des équidés car ce sont les seules à flotter comme un pont suspendu, seulement tenues par les muscles (caractéristique plus ou moins perdue aujourd’hui). N’avoir que 5 vertèbres lombaires fatigue moins ces muscles. Cela expliquerait, en partie, la résistance et l’endurance légendaires du cheval barbe, qui conserve malgré tout, une grande souplesse du dos.
 

Les différents types rencontrés chez le cheval barbe

 

Le standard de la race, reconnu par le stud-book français du cheval barbe, dit les choses suivantes : de taille moyenne (1,45 à 1,60 m), de format « carré » et de robe grise, alezane ou baie (on trouve encore certains sujets pies en Afrique noire), le cheval barbe s’identifie avant tout par sa tête et son arrière-main caractéristiques.

Sa tête un peu forte, plutôt longue, possède un front étroit et légèrement bombé. Elle est chargée en ganache où s’y attache, à mi-hauteur, une encolure massive, droite et rouée dans sa partie supérieure. Le chanfrein est droit ou convexe avec une arête nasale très marquée. Ses yeux sombres, très expressifs, sont placés haut. Les naseaux sont larges et effacés. La lèvre inférieure est lourde, parfois tombante. Les oreilles divergentes sont petites, portées vers l’arrière au repos. Les crins sont abondants et épais.

Le garrot est placé haut et son dos court et tendu, souligne sa force. La croupe est oblique, dite « en pupitre ». La queue, dont l’implantation basse est équivoque, semble noyée dans le profil de la fesse. La cuisse écourtée favorise l’engagement des postérieurs qui sont en général serrés. L’épaule est longue et inclinée. Les membres sont secs, solides avec des articulations larges. Les tendons, secs eux aussi, sont bien détachés. Les sabots, pourvus d’une corne excellente, sont petits. Le thorax est large et profond.

C’est un cheval puissant, efficace et résistant, supportant aussi bien le froid que la chaleur (même s’il aime moins l’humidité).

Au sein de cette morphologie générale, sous l’influence du biotope, de la sélection humaine et de l’utilisation, il coexiste, dans la race barbe, plusieurs types (source : Chantal Chekroun) :